Sola Voluntas

The Tiered Relativism of ASMA


Sola voluntas™ (Latin, by will alone) is intended to contrast with the sola ecclesia (only by or through the Church) of the Roman Catholic Church and with the five solas of the Protestant Reformation:

  1. sola gratia: Latin, by grace alone
  2. sola fide: Latin, by faith alone
  3. sola scriptura: Latin, by Scripture alone
  4. solus Christus (or Solo Christo): Latin, by Christ alone
  5. Soli Deo gloria: Latin, glory to God alone

The term, sola voluntas refers to the tiered relativism™, a dialectic of divine and human wills (sola voluntas divina and sola voluntas hominis), of the Ásma™:

  • From the Via Moderna of William of Ockham, Robert Holkot, Gregory of Rimini, Gabriel Biel, Pierre d'Ailly, Jean Gerson, John Buridan, Martin Luther, Roscelin (predecessor), and others comes the notion that divine structurizations are relative to the Will (or Covenant) of God.
  • From the postist thought of various writers, such as Michel Foucault, Jacques Derrida, Richard Rorty, Friedrich Nietzsche, Ludwig Wittgenstein, Jean-François Lyotard, Thomas Kuhn, and Aleister Crowley, is derived the idea that human, social, and scientific structurizations are relative to human wills (either individually or operating as groups).

Constructions (names) are accepted via dominance, utility, or both, and, through assertions of power, can be deconstructed ("denamed"). Indeed, the universal deconstruction of dominant structurizations (narratives or discourses), first, as thought experiments and, second, if considered desirable in particular instances, as transformations, should be promoted through public sociologies.